Letter of Support for SF2223/HF2546

Please support SF2223/HF2546, a bill that will provide a nation-leading investment in filling the weekend food gap for Minnesota students


Minnesota State Legislators,

As leaders dedicated to the betterment of children in Minnesota, we ask for your support for SF2223/HF2546 which would provide Every Meal with a modest investment to build a facility to expand needed weekend food distribution to students statewide.

Every Meal has been filling the weekend food gap for school-age children since 2010 and has become a leader with its successful Weekend Meal Program – a food program that provides students with weekend food bags directly in their backpacks while they’re in school. We know that the most efficient and effective way to provide food to children experiencing hunger on weekends is through backpack food programs.

The need for Every Meal’s services has only increased in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, with over 48 percent more children served now compared to 2020. Although we continue to see generosity in our community and we strive to serve every child in need, Every Meal is literally bursting at the seams – limiting our ability to serve hungry children.

By supporting this bill, you will help ensure that more children have access to good food for every meal, not just when they’re in school. It would allow a one-time, $4 million cash investment toward an $8 million food distribution hub that will greatly expand capacity to reach more children. It’s a nation-leading investment in our school-age children.

Please consider the positive impacts this would have on our shared responsibility to serve kids across Minnesota. Every Meal is ready to address this tremendous need and I urge you to take action in supporting SF2223/HF2546.

Thank you for your leadership on this issue and your work to help make Minnesota a better place for our children.



Jennifer Stern
CEO, Great MN Schools
Ellie Lucas
CEO, Hunger Impact Partners
Brandon Jones
Executive Director, Minnesota Association for Children’s Mental Health
Darcy Stueber
Public Policy Chair, Minnesota School Nutrition Association
Courtney Stenseth
Board Secretary, Minnesota School Social Workers Association
Mary Jo McGuire
Commissioner, Ramsey County
Dan Roe
Mayor, City of Roseville

Schools and Districts

Molly Schilling
Superintendent, Adrian Public School District (D511)
Kate Maguire
Interim Superintendent, Anoka-Hennepin Public School District (D11)
Eric Melbye
Superintendent, Bloomington Public School District (D271)
Nate Rudolph
Superintendent, Cambridge-Isanti Public School District (D911)
Jeff Sampson
Superintendent, Cannon Falls Public School District (D252)
Zena Stenvik
Superintendent, Columbia Heights Public School District (D13)
Lisa Sayles-Adams
Superintendent, Eastern Carver County Public School District (D112)
Stacie Stanley
Superintendent, Edina Public School District (D273))
Daniel Bittman
Superintendent, Elk River Public School District (D728)
Kim Hiel
Superintendent, Fridley Public School District (D14)
La Shawn Ray
Executive Director, Hiawatha Academies
Michael Favor
Superintendent, Intermediate School District 917 (D917)
Ranae Case Evenson
Superintendent, Jordan Public School District (D717)
Erick Enger
Superintendent, Lake City Public School District (D813)
Rochelle Cox
Superintendent, Minneapolis Public School District (D1)
Eric Olson
Superintendent, Monticello Public School District (D882)
Dan Voce
Superintendent, Mora Public School District (D332)
Tim Dittberner
Superintendent, New Prague Area Schools (D721)
Erika Saas
Executive Director & Co-Founder, Northeast College Prep Charter School
Kristine Flesher
Superintendent, Orono Public School District (278)
Cory McIntyre
Superintendent, Osseo Public School District (D279)
Frank Norton
Interim Superintendent, Red Wing Public School District (D256)
Steven Unowsky
Superintendent, Richfield Public School District (D280)
Michael Rogers
President, Risen Christ Catholic School
David Engstrom
Superintendent, Robbinsdale Public School District (D281)
Mary Kreger
Superintendent, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan School District (D196)
Jenny Loeck
Superintendent, Roseville Public School District (D623)
Mike Redmond
Superintendent, Shakopee Public School District (D720)
Brian Zambreno
Superintendent, South St. Paul Public School District (D6)
Joe Gothard, Ed. D
Superintendent, St. Paul Public School District (D625)
Jim Freihammer
Superintendent, Wabasha-Kellogg Public School District (D811)
Darren Schuler
Superintendent, Watertown-Mayer Public School District (D111)
Kevin Bord
Superintendent, Westonka Public School District (277)
John Landgaard
Superintendent, Worthington Public School District (D518)

Submit your organization as a supporter of Bill SF2223/HF2546

Your Name(Required)
Click to Support(Required)